38th MMFF (2012) - List of Winners

The winners of the 38th Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF 2012) were revealed Thursday night, December 27, 2012, during its Gabi ng Parangal (Awards Night) at the Meralco Theater in Pasig City.

Here is the complete list of winners to the 38th  MMFF 2012 Awards Night:

Mainstream Films Category:
  • Best Float: "El Presidente"
  • Best Child Star: Miguel Vergara, "One More Try"
  • Best Sound: Michael Idioma, "El Presidente"
  • Best Musical Score: Jessie Lazatin, "El Presidente"
  • Best Theme Song: apl.de.ap and Jamir Garcia, "El Presidente"
  • Best Make-up: Warren Munar, "El Presidente" by Warren Munar and company.
  • Best Production Design: Brillante Mendoza, "Thy Womb"
  • Best Visual Effects: "Shake, Rattle, and Roll 14: The Invasion" 
  • Best Editing: Vito Kahili, "One More Try"
  • Best Cinematography: Odyssey Flores, "Thy Womb"
  • Best Supporting Actor: Cesar Montano, "El Presidente"
  • Best Supporting Actress: Wilma Doesnt, "Sisterakas"
  • Best Original Story: Henry Burgos, "Thy Womb"
  • Best Screenplay: Anna Ramos, "One More Try"
  • Best Director: Brillante Mendoza, "Thy Womb"
  • Gender Sensitivity Special Award: "Thy Womb" 
  • FPJ Memorial Award: "One More Try"
  • Gatpuno Villegas Award: "Thy Womb"
  • Youth Choice Award: "El Presidente"
  • 3rd Best Picture: "Sisterakas"
  • 2nd Best Picture: "El Presidente"
  • Best Picture: "One More Try"
  • Best Actor: Dingdong Dantes, "One More Try"
  • Best Actress: Nora Aunor, "Thy Womb"

New Wave:
  • Best Actor: Alan Paule, "Gayak"
  • Best Actress: Liza DiƱo, "In Nomine Matris"
  • Best Director: Tyrone Acierto, "The Grave Bandits"
  • Best Film: Tyrone Acierto's "The Grave Bandits."
  • Special Jury Prize: Armando "Bing" Lao's "Ad Ignorantiam"
  • Gender Sensitivity Special Award: "In Nomine Matris"

Student Short Films Category:
  • Best Short Film: "Pukpok" (DLSU)
  • Gender Sensitivity Special Award: "Manibela" (FEU)
  • Special Jury Prize: Daniel Bautista of USC

Special Awards:
  • Female Star of the Night: Nora Aunor
  • Male Star of the Night: Former President Joseph Estrada
  • SMDC Male Celebrity of the Night: Zanjoe Marudo
  • SMDC Female Celebrity of the Night: Bianca King

These movie contenders are currently showing on theaters nationwide and the tally is currently spiraling up as more and more moviegoers are out for their holiday movie trip.

As of this posting, here is the latest gross income for the 38th Metro Manila Film Festival:

Official MMFF 2-day gross (December 25 & 26):

First Day Gross
1 Sisterakas Php 39,200,000
2 Si Agimat, si Enteng Kabisote at si Ako Php 29,500,000
3 One More Try Php 13,300,000
4 Shake, Rattle & Roll 14 Php 10,500,000
5 The Strangers Php 4,900,000
6 El Presidente Php 4,200,000
7 Sosy Problems Php 2,800,000
8 Thy Womb Php 911,000

Second Day Gross
1 Si Agimat, si Enteng Kabisote at si Ako Php 62,300,000
2 Sisterakas Php 59,700,000
3 One More Try Php 16,400,000
4 Shake, Rattle & Roll 14 Php 12,700,000
5 The Strangers Php 7,000,000
6 Sosy Problems Php 6,800,000
7 El Presidente Php 5,400,000
8 Thy Womb Php 1,100,000

Let us support the Phillipine movies!

Also watch the late telecast of the 38th MMFF Award's Night on TV5 tonight at 9:30 PM.