2011 VACC Awards - GMA7 Awarded as Oustanding TV Station

The Volunteers against Crime and Corruption (VACC) on Friday, Ausgust 26, 2011 marked its 13th founding anniversary with an awards ceremony to express the group's gratitude to individuals from the various pillars of the criminal justice system and the media, who, in one way or another, contributed to the campaign against crime and corruption in the country for the year 2010-2011.

With the theme, "Ituwid ang daan sa sistemang pangkatarungan," the VACC's awards ceremony held at the Department of Justice (DOJ) had as its foremost award, a citation for anti-corruption campaign awarded to President Benigno Simeon Aquino III, the first time the group had given out the said award to the chief executive.

Under media, private sector, GMA-7 indeed was the big winner since they awarded as the Outstanding TV Station and the DZBB as the Oustanding Radio Station. Aside from that, Outstanding TV Reporter was also given to JP Soriano, Carlo Mateo of DZBB as the Outstanding Radio Reporter  and Mike Enriquez as the Outstanding Radio Host. Moreover, GMA News TV's State of the Nation was commended as the Outstanding Television Program and its host Jessica Soho as the Outstanding TV Host.

Here is the list of Awards:

Awardees From Government

-From the Judiciary:
Manila Regional Trial Court (RTC) Branch 27 Judge Teresa Soriaso;
Guimba, Nueva Ecija RTC Branch 33 Judge Ismael Casabar;
ParaƱaque RTC Branch 259 Judge Danilo Suarez; and,
Pili, Camarines Sur RTC Branch 33 Judge Marvel Chui Clavecilla for special citation for anti-corruption campaign;

-From the DOJ: 
State Prosecutors Rolando Ramirez, Peter Medalle, Floro Florendo, Oliver Hernandez, and the prosecuting panel for the Maguindanao massacre cases;

-from the Philippine National Police (PNP):
Chief Supt. Benito Estipona of the Criminal Investigation and Detection Group (CIDG)-Crame;
Chief Supt. Leonardo Espina (Highway Patrol Group);
Senior Supt. Arnold Gunnacao (Balanga, Bataan provincial police office);
Supt. Arnel Amor Libed (DPDO-Balanga, Bataan);
Supt. Mario Da Ramos (DPDA-Balanga, Bataan);
Supt. Joel Tampis (Mariveles, Bataan);
Supt. Allan Macapagal (Balanga, Bataan);
Supt. Remus Medina (NCRPO/Caloocan City);
Supt. Ferdinand Villanueva (QCPD);
Chief Inspector Rodelio Marcelo (QCPD);
Chief Insp. Anita Luarca Araullo (Chief, Women's Desk, MPD);
Chief Insp. Virgilio Rubio (CIDG-Batangas); and,
retired Special Police Officer 3 Rodolfo Geroza;

-From Various Government Agencies:
Heidi Mendoza, Commissioner, Commission on Audit;
Carlos Cao Jr., Philippine Overseas Employment Administration (POEA) Administrator;
Atty. Martin Menes, Director, DOJ Witness Protection Program (WPP);
Senior State Prosecutor Nerissa Molina-Carpio, Assistant Director, DOJ WPP;
Benito Talabucon, chief, DOJ-WPP ISOG; and,
retired Justice Monina Arevalo Zenarosa.

Awardees From Media, Pivate Sector

- Outstanding TV Station - GMA7

-From Broadcast Television: 
-Outstanding Reporters: JP Soriano (GMA7), Ina Reformina (ABS-CBN), Doland Castro (ABS-CBN);
-Outstanding Television Programs: State of the Nation (GMA News TV), Bitag (UNTV);
-Outstanding Television Host: Jessica Soho (GMA7)

-From Broadcast Radio:
Outstanding Radio Station: DZBB GMA7
Outstanding Reporters: Carlo Mateo (DZBB GMA7), Alvin Elchico (DZMM ABS-CBN), Alex Santos (DZMM ABS-CBN);
Oustanding Radio Host: Mike Enriquez (DZBB GMA7)

-From News Print:
Cathy Yamsuan (The Inquirer), Edu Punay (The Philippine Star);

-From the Private Lawyers Sector:
Attorneys Teddy Esteban Rigoroso, Pete Prinsipe, Harry Roque, Nena Santos, Ferdinand Topacio and Bayani Dalangin;
-Huwarang Ama award: Lauro Vizconde, chairman emeritus, VACC; and,
-Solidarity and Bravery award: families of the 58 Maguindanao massacre victims.

'Kalabasa' Award

The Supreme Court (SC), meantime, was awarded a "Kalabasa" or "shame" award for its "unfavorable and unjustly decided decisions" including its decision on the Vizconde massacre case.

Jimenez also said the SC has yet to "address issues of corruption in the judiciary. This is the second time for the VACC to give out a "Kalabasa" award; last year, the "shame" award was conferred on the Office of the Ombudsman.

"The very essence for giving out these awards is that we are recognizing their contribution -- first, sa mga cases ng VACC, and number two: giving faith or maintaining the faith of our people sa criminal justice system kahit ganun kabulok," Jimenez said.

If you found this post helpful, we would appreciate if you could drop in a comment below to let us know your views. You could also share the link with your friends for them to be updated. This keeps us motivated to share more such post here.

No comments:

Post a Comment